The Strange Lives of Batman and Robin

Today’s Batman post looks at the second 1966 Batman 80-page giant in my collection. It was a cover I saw many times in copies of 1966 DC Comics but I bought it only last week. Happily, it’s a pretty enjoyable collection. These are mostly stories with a mad scientist theme, although two are somewhat science-fictional.  This time, I’ve ranked the stories from most to least entertaining, rather than in publication order in the comic.

Image

The Joker Batman: Bats and the Joker swap bodies when exposed to an “epsilon ray” device. The Joker almost unmasks “himself” in a giant magnifying glass but Batman’s id is preserved.

The Villain of 100 Elements: lab assistant John Dolan becomes a bizarre foe whose powers antcipate Metamorpho. Batman is similarly transformed in this sci-fi tale. Batman and the Outsiders, one of my favourites in the mid-late-80s, featured an Elemental Woman as a member of Strike Force Kobra.

 Strike_Force_Kobra

 Batman Junior and Robin Senior: B’n’R are exposed to gases that reverse or increase age but also remove life experience. I felt this story was an influence on the grown-up Robin of the Brave and Bold tv series- more so than the rarely-seen JSA member of the Sixties -to-Eighties.

482955-brave_and_the_bold_super

The Experiment of Prof. Zero: the Dynamic Duo are reduced to doll-size via a shrinking ray concealed in the Bat-Signal. This 1949 adventure is older than the rest and reminded me of 1940’s horror, Dr. Cyclops– which feels like it should’ve been part of a BBC2 double bill but wasn’t, to my knowledge.

Batman, Robot: Robin attempts to cover up Batman’s “death” in a mine disaster rigged by the Night Owl Gang. The Robot Batman exhibits super- strength spinning a carousel, like the scene in Strangers on a Train. Otherwise, somewhat slow,

The Rainbow Batman: Batman wears different-coloured costumes to distract attention from Robin, injured as Dick Grayson. The eponymous variegated costume appears finally on the last two pages. A bit dull. I would have preferred a Batwoman adventure.

Next time, we’ll revisit the first 80-page Batman I ever read, as a small boy at the height of Bat-mania- and I may thrown in a couple of other Sixties Giants for fun.

One comment on “The Strange Lives of Batman and Robin

  1. Kid Robson says:

    I think I may have that Annual, I’ll have to check. I never quite took to ‘SF’ Batman, but they do have a charm all their own. I remember reading some of them in primary school in the ’60s, in the classroom during breaks. (Perhaps it was raining heavily outside and we were kept indoors during the intervals.)

Leave a Reply

