St.Dominic’s Preview

To commemorate St. Patrick’s Day, here are my favourite Irish super-heroes from DC and Marvel.

Firstly, the fanciful Jack O’ Lantern, a young farmer granted magical powers by the Sidhe. Created by E. Nelson Bridwell and Ramona Fradon,  the first and best Jack made his début in the Bronze Age Super Friends.

From the House of Ideas, one of my earliest X-Men memories: the C&W fan and ex-cop, Banshee:

Sean Cassidy was killed off some years ago and his daughter Siryn now uses the Banshee codename. But if I were writing The Strangest Teens of all, I’d include a youthful Sean since he made an impression in X-Men: First Class

…and, like Jack O’ Lantern, he’s on speaking terms with leprechauns. Comics need more leprechauns and fewer cannibal serial killers.

I was lucky enough to spend a weekend in Dublin in February 2006.  I had a ticket to see the amazing Ralph Fiennes in Brian Friel’s Faith Healer at The Gate, Orson Welles’ beloved theatre. Dublin reminded me a little of Edinburgh but the trams were working.  Although it was quite expensive, the bar staff were efficient and the taxi drivers talked like poets. Unfortunately,  a mini-riot sprang up on the Saturday night after an Orange Walk- something I’d never seen in twenty-one years in Glasgow. It didn’t make the news back home.

The Celtic Tiger doesn’t roar quite so loudly nowadays and I find the Gaelification of Glasgow a little ludicrous but let’s toast Erin in any case.

Next: Shazambago.

4 comments on “St.Dominic’s Preview

  1. Kid Robson says:

    I remember reading that first Banshee tale in the pages of Fantastic. As well as that issue, I now have various colour reprints of it – in single issues and collected editions. As the proud owner of the two-volume X-Men Omnibus books, I look forward to sitting down and rereading all 66 issues of that classic series sometime soon. Werner Roth was better than he seems to be given credit for these days.

    • Dougie says:

      I think I must have seen it in Fantastic too! Then I read it in the first reprint (the one with the Gil Kane cover). One of my favourites, along with The Mimic issue and I love Roth’s Jean and Zelda. BTW, did The Mimic appear on a Fantastic cover?

  2. Kid Robson says:

    Yup – he first appeared on the cover of #37, and on the back-page pin-up of #38. Then he next appeared on the cover of #50 and #55. Incidentally, the Banshee appeared on the cover of #53.

Leave a Reply

